Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 30th, 2009

Pumpkins and pincushions 016

Living out in the country, we have few if any little trick or treaters that come to our door on Halloween. Still, we do keep candy on hand – just in case.  John, my main trick or treater of 43 years, prefers the dark chocolate so with that in mind, the choice is easy! Thank goodness for Sam’s Club! The mix includes Milky Way Midnight…so good!

I also tend to do more “Fall” accents by the front door rather than ghostly, spidery, decorations. This year’s pumpkin has some character to it – kind of gnarly and rustic, don’t you think?

Pumpkins and pincushions 012One year, DH brought home these cute stacked pumpkins that light up – that is about as Halloweenish as it gets at Taylors Outback.

Pumpkins and pincushions 014So what was I thinking when Crabapple Hill introduced this pattern in 2008? Both my friend, Connie, and I thought this was so clever and would make a darling pincushion…did we notice the sentence at the bottom of the pattern (on the front cover, no less) that stated this pumpkin would have a 12 1/2″ diameter? (Circumference? About 43″) NO!  My keen mind told me it might be a tad larger than originally thought when I started stitching each of the panels…and 1 1⁄2 bags of stuffing later, plus 8 yards of green cording to do the wrap, the final creation was revealed. Bigger than a breadbox, able to leap tall buildings at a single bound – I had created Super Pumpkin!

Pumpkins and pincushions 005I have other unsuspecting friends who fell under its spell also – there is a chorus of stitchers echoing – “I had no idea it would be this large” – A pincushion…probably not; a cute little accent for a coffee table…not unless you use a pool table…it is best used as a centerpiece where you really want to make a Statement. Great fun, nevertheless, and this Super Pumpkin always brings giggles to the viewer and that is what it is all about.

Have a giggled filled weekend – be safe and always read the directions first!

“…from ghoulies and ghosties and long leggedty beasties, and things that go bump in the night – Dear Lord protect us!”

Pat

Read Full Post »