Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 21st, 2010

Fabric Arrival!

Do you order a lot of fabric online? Sometimes it is the only option and when I have done so in the past, the results have always been positive.  A number of weeks ago, I discovered a new line of fabric by Robyn Pandolph & immediately connected with it. It is called Canadian Cottage and oh, how I coveted some!!! With a birthday approaching at the end of February, it seemed timely to seek out DH about an early present. Could I, oh please, could I order some?? The answer was “yes.” I knew it would never be found around my neck of the woods and probably hard to locate in the US in reality.  All my Google hits came up with Canadian references only. The Quilted Garden in Surrey, B.C. had gotten in the entire collection & Catherine Hanna, the owner, took such good care of my order. The package was mailed on Monday, February 8th, the same day the Olympic Torch traveled the Fraser Highway in the Surrey area.  It arrived on Wednesday, February 17th – the day after my knee replacement surgery. Was I ever motivated to get home quickly! This is what I arrived home to…the photos don’t begin to do it justice and the feel or hand of this fabric is like a cloud – a high thread count.

This first piece will be used for blocks

This piece will be used for the border which will be scalloped.

The pale turquoise dot will also be used for blocks & binding and the wonderful white with the Canadian National Anthem “O, Canada” will be the backing.

What will the quilt pattern be?

Using this pattern and fabric above to create a totally different look…and adding that scalloped border…

We have spent so many memorable times visiting throughout the Canadian Provinces and Territories over the years.  The welcoming people we have met in Toronto, Vermilion Bay, Red Lake, Thunder Bay…Whiteshell Park, Manitoba…breathtaking Banff, Vancouver Island & Bushart Gardens (ah…all those roses!) just all of beautiful B.C. &  The Yukon – pale, milky blue waters and snowcapped mountains…this quilt featuring the Delectable Mountains block just says – make me! It will be a while before I can start – other projects need to take priority but what a treat this will be when it begins to take shape.

Be sure to visit Becca over at Turtle Trax Too for her lovely 2nd Bloggaversary Celebration!!!

For now, my brain is still foggy from meds and weeks of rehab lay ahead. I would like to thank everyone who sent such kind thoughts, prayers and best wishes for a successful surgery and recovery. That has meant so much to me.

All for the time being…hope to be back more alert later in the week. Take care and…

Always take time to stitch…

Pat

Read Full Post »