Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 27th, 2009

NO MORE EXCUSES…

We have celebrated a wonderful Christmas – one of the best ever! There is plenty of food, both leftovers and new stuff in the freezers and pantry. Today, December27th, is our son’s birthday and the spareribs (which he taught us how to do in a proper manner) are in the frig soaking up the spicy rub. He has requested my Blackberry Crisp for dessert and all is well in hand. The house is still semi-organized and clean. The Packers play the Seattle Seahawks at noon and it is snowing outside…

My cast has been off since December 15th and there are simply No More Excuses – I am returning to the sewing room – this is what I face on entering my domain…

What a mess!

Another view…

Not a clear work surface anywhere!

I did not have the courage to show you what lurks behind those closed doors…

Where does a quilter begin? I suppose by putting stuff away – ugh…and then when I finally have some room to maneuver, the first thing to address is finishing up some borders for a friend’s quilt tops…and then working my way through projects that were half started…and at the same time, prepare backgrounds for two major applique pieces…it feels like I have been away for ever – and am so happy to be returning to what I love so much.

Because my right hand grip is still not where it needs to be – my doctor says allow for 5-6 weeks…DH put some insulating pipe wrap around my old Olfa cutter to give a more substantial hold. In addition to the broken wrist healing, arthritis has really flared up in that hand, so this padded handle should help alleviate that.

It has been many weeks since I have been able to share any works in progress and viewing all the quilting blogs helped to keep me motivated – it will be fun to finally do some genuine Quilting posts in the days ahead. So for now, I am going to sign off and head to the woman’s cave, keep an eye on the Packers game on my TV (if things get nasty, there is always new background music on my iPod) and try to rejoin the land of quilters…while straightening up, my thoughts may wander to flowers and Spring…the azalea my Mom gave me 2 years ago for Easter is beginning to bloom in the sunroom…

Have a great week as you prepare to welcome in the New Year – our favorite neighborhood bear – Mr. Gruff – sends greetings from snowy Wisconsin and reminds each of you to…

Always take time to stitch…(I sure plan to do just that!)

Pat

Read Full Post »